You may print an application for a birth or death certificate on the FORMS tab found at the top of the page.
Accepted forms of payment include cash, *checks, cashiers check, and money order. *No out-of-state personal checks accepted.
*All checks must have the drivers license and phone number of signer. If you have questions about us accepting your check, please contact us at 903-537-2342 x 2.
Return check fee $30. Returned checks will not be redeposited.
BIRTH INFO - See the Fee Schedule tab for information on fees
Effective May 11, 2011 - We can issue certified birth certificates if you were born in the state of Texas. Please call 903-537-2342 x 2 before you come in person to verify we can issue your out-of-county birth certificate.
Certified copies of birth certificates can only be issued to properly qualified applicants: the registrant; a member of his or her immediate family either by blood or marriage, including parent, grandparent, sibling, child, spouse, his or her legal guardian (must show written proof); his or her legal representative or agent (must show written proof)
Photo ID required such as driver's license or state issued photo ID. If you need your birth certificate to get your ID please have a qualified applicant apply for you birth certificate.
DEATH INFO - See the Fee Schedule tab for information on fees
Certified copies of death certificates can only be issued to property qualified applicants: the registrant; a member of his or her immediate family either by blood or marriage, including parent, grandparent, sibling, child, spouse, his or her legal guardian (must show written proof); his or her legal representative or agent (must show written proof)
Photo ID required such as driver's license or state issued photo ID.
DEADLINE TO ISSUE MARRIAGE LICENSE 4:00 PM
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFO - Marriage license expire if it is not used within 30 days of issuance. You must also wait 72 hours after issuance to get married unless a waiver has been obtained.
To obtain a marriage license you must submit proof of identy and age such as a photo ID (drivers license) or a certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate or by some certificate, license or document issued by this state or another state, the United States or a foreign government. You will also need your social security card / number if applicapable.
A license CANNOT be issued if either applicant has been divorced within the last 30 days. This restriction does not apply when divorced spouses are remarrying each other or when the applicant has received a waiver from a court (must present waiver) and a record of the proceedings was made and preserved, or findings of fact and conclusions of law were filed by the court.
We do not issue marriage license after 4:00 PM unless arrangements have been made in advance. Give the office a call (903-537-2342 x 2) to make arrangements.
Marriage education courses are being offered by TWOGETHER IN TEXAS. Visit www.twogetherintexas.com or call 903-553-1550 for more information. If both parties complete a qualified education course, $60 of the $72 marriage license fee will be waived as well as the 72 hour waiting period. A certificate from Twogether in Texas MUST be presented at the time of the purchase of the marriage license. We will not accept a copy of the certificate. The certificate must be the original.
Marriage license - $72 (without TWOGETHERINTEXAS certificate)
Marriage license - $12 (with TWOGETHERINTEXAS certificate)